About us
A long, long time ago …
From the 2nd half of the 17th century until 1939, Chobienice was the seat of the Mielżyński family bearing the Nowina coat of arms, one of the most distinguished families in Greater Poland. The founder of the Chobienice branch of this family was the castellan of Śrem, Franciszek Walenty Mielżyński (1682-1783), who together with his wife Krystyna née Skaławska founded the Reformat monastery in Woźniki near Grodzisk, whose crypt houses family graves. His son was the castellan and voivode of Poznań, Józef Klemens Krzysztof Mielżyński (1729-1792), a Knight of Malta. He built a palace in Chobienice and founded the local church.
The surrounding villages are deeply steeped in the history of this distinguished family.
Above the palace portico is the Latin inscription "Not for oneself but for posterity". This motto also inspires the current owners of OSTOJA Chobienice.
To the east of the palace there is a manor farm with buildings from the 18th-19th centuries. Today it is OSTOJA Chobienice. Among them is the steward’s house. Today, the Steward’s House Restaurant dating back to the 1st half of the 18th century, as well as an impressive granary from the 2nd half of the 19th century with a mansard roof and skylights - today housing 24 hotel rooms and a cellar where you can taste the best kinds of whisky. From the Wolsztyn road, an avenue of old chestnut trees leads to the manor farm. The former stable, where horses were bred, among others for the military, is now a swimming pool and spa as well as 10 apartments. A ballroom has been arranged in the barn where events for up to 300 people are held, as well as numerous conference rooms. Meanwhile, the distillery building offers 19 comfortably furnished rooms, apartments, and a chapel.
Out of a love of nature, respect for the land, and well-understood rural tradition, this unique place was born.






